Way-back machine: shopping cart seats


Baby Shopper - First shopping cart seats

I started out in design in the mid 80’s. My son was 14 months old and there was no such thing as a shopping cart seat. I needed something to bolt the active little guy down, so I designed one and started a small business on my kitchen table. Those days, no one thought twice about germs and the designs arriving on the market about the same time as my Baby Shopper, were all about comfort and containment.

Forward twenty-some years and it’s a whole new world of baby stuff.  I was in Buy Buy Baby a few weeks ago and was stunned by the amount of stuff that no one actually needs for their baby. But…evidently people buy, buy. Do we really need a Clip-n-Go Health and Grooming Ring that clips to a diaper bag? Most babies have little hair or if they do have hair, it typically does its own thing for the first couple of years.  Is there ever a hair combing or nail clipping emergency?

Anyway, my point is that the baby world of design is where I started. I loved designing that seat, sketching ideas, creating patterns and trying out different concepts.  These days I am into accessory design – scarves, jewelry and wrist gloves.  Wrist gloves, aka wrist warmers or fingerless gloves are another creation based on need.  I’m a cold person.  I have looked for years for wrist warmers that were not made to throw a snowball. I didn’t want thick knits, lacy cuffs or those made from pink stripe knee socks.  I just wanted something nice looking – very tailored, to wear to work that covered my wrist pulse points. Wrist warmers (or wrist gloves), along with scarves that cover the neck pulse points, will keep you warmer while leaving your fingers free so you can continue to tweet, text, hold a pen or use a keyboard. I couldn’t find them, so I designed them.

Leave a Reply

